Dixie Varsity Boys Track- SWBL CHAMPS AGAIN!!!

posted May 16, 2016, 4:54 AM by kcreamer@newlebanonschools.org
Congratulations to Coach Benji Hughes and Coach Rob Brown and the varsity boys' track team.  This is the the third straight league championship for the Greyhounds!!!  The success this program has enjoyed over the past decade is remarkable.  This is best illustrated in the fact that the boys have won a league title three years in a row, four out of the last five years, and seven out of the last ten years!  What a run!!!

Cameron Coffman, a junior, was the league champion in the shot put.  Joe Nevels, a junior, was the league champion in the 300m Hurdles, and Isaiah Pritchard, a senior, was the league champion in the long jump.  Also winning first place was the 4x100m relay team of Zach Roberts (senior), Clayton Washington (junior), Ethan Arnett (junior), and Isaiah Pritchard (senior).

The Dixie Girls' team finished a very respectable 3rd place.  Winning a league championship for the girls was Maddison Swigart, a junior, in the 100m Dash and 400m Dash.  The girls 4x400m Relay team of Amara Wylie (senior), Sydney Creamer (freshman), McKinlee Ruppert (freshman), and Maddison Swigart (junior) also finished as a league champion.

Faith Scott, a senior, also broke her own school record in the 3200m Run with a time of 12:57.20

Good luck to all of the track athletes as they compete in the District Championships this week on Tuesday, May 17th (4pm) and Saturday, May 21st (10am).
May 16, 2016, 4:54 AM